You are here

GJSCI Announces Winners Of Traditional Jewellery Design Competition

The Gem & Jewellery Skill Council of India (GJSCI) announced the winners of its Anant competition that is aimed at reviving traditional Indian jewellery formats like Hupari Payal (from Kolhapur), Tarakasi (from Cuttack), Thewa (from Rajasthan) and Gajra (from Bhuj in Gujarat).

A grand ceremony organised by the GJSCI and the Women's Jewelry Association (WJA) – India Chapter and supported by the GIA (Gemological Institute of America), Gem and Jewellery Export Promotion Council (GJEPC), All India Gem and Jewellery Domestic Council (GJC) and Indian Bullion and Jewellers Association (IBJA) was held in Mumbai on June 26 during the Design Connect event that brought together designers, manufacturers and retailers.

The overall category winner was Sakshi Agrawal, with Varuni Goyal in second place and Pooja Mishra placed third. Consolation prizes in individual art form were given to Shreya Nath (Thewa), Namrata Singh (Hupari Payal), Aashi Jain (Tarakasi) and Smriti Agarwal (Gajra). Special prize winners were Tanvi Chitalia, Vrinda Agrawal, Kalyani Sanjay Choudhary, R. Rukmani and Sneha Israni.

Leave a Comment